Hotel reviews

Here you can find some ratings from guests to our hotel in Bad Reichenhall.

Grand old hotel in need of love and attention

Grand old property with a once lovely garden which is now uncared for. Finances have dried up! Staff were mostly helpful, breakfast was plentiful and guest rooms and bathrooms were large. Bed was surprisingly comfortable. Indoor pool was popular. House taxi charges fixed price of €30 to Salzburg airport. This place could be amazing. There was reasonable English spoken at reception. Once a grand spa hotel, it is now utilized by many bus groups. Bad: As a four star property there were no basic amenities such as shampoo, conditioner, lotions etc. in the bathroom. There were no porters. Carpets and decor were very dated and in definite need of replacement. Extensive gardens including a small lake were in definite need of care. Lawns needed mowing and heldges needed grooming. Apparently there are no funds for this. The Sunday afternoon reception person was in dire need of some training in customer service and smiling. Internet was initially difficult to establish.

DeltaBega on Booking.com, 22.06.2017
separator

Lovely older hotel

We loved the location and the staff was outstanding. Hot and cold spigot was temperamental. The place was a little worn. The grounds were fantastic. The breakfast was stellar. We would definitely stay here again.

TXMountain on TripAdvisor, 21.06.2017
separator

Slightly frayed around edges but nevertheless very good

A grand old dame type hotel. Seen better days perhaps but elegant nevertheless and surprisingly good. It has a number of real positives including:- 1. Comfortable bed 2. Great breakfast buffet 3. Breakfast served till 11am on weekends 4. Good pool area 5. Lovely garden 6. Some rooms at back have lovely balconies and stunning views 7. Friendly staff 8. Fairly Central location 9. Spotlessly clean 10. Good shower pressure 11. Excellent value for money A few negatives 1. No air conditioning 2. Whilst centrally located it is at the very opposite end of the shopping area to the main square and more historic and prettiest part of town 3. No concierge or bell boy service Overall it is good and you will have a comfortable stay. It is not really a four star and I suspect only gets that rating because of the pool. The relatively low staff numbers relative to rooms and the fact that it needs some upkeep and maintenance in places would put it more in the three star category However I enjoyed my stay and would stay again. Tip- ask or make sure you book a garden room with a balcony. The balconies are large. You can sit outside and soak in the stunning views.

bambergfan on TripAdvisor, 19.06.2017
separator

Pleasant stay.

Good breakfast, helpful front desk staff, nice historic hotel, conveniently located in the pedestrian zone. The indoor swimming pool was very pleasant. Bad: We had a corner room, so we had enough ventilation. Our companions had one window, and it was uncomfortable. Some of the furniture was scratched up.The shower dripped.

Expat on Booking.com, 17.06.2017
separator

A weekend in Bad Reichenhall

Big room with extra walk-in wardrobe was excellent. Lovely breakfast and very friendly staff. Bad: Hotel would soon need a little updating.

Co-traveler on Booking.com, 16.06.2017
separator

Wonderful

Very nice "classical" Grand Hotel-atmosphere. Beautiful house and location, breakfast room luxurious and with a breath-taking view of the park. The swimming pool is not deep enough. Bad: The pool are would benefit from an upgrade of facilities

Anonymous on Booking.com, 12.06.2017
separator

Most enjoyable.

Very helpful and friendly staff, excellent breakfast and good location. A bit shabby chic but to me that's part of it's charm.

Percy on Agoda, 07.06.2017
separator

Holiday in bavarian Alps

Very large hotel on the main shopping street. Traffic free. Eat as much as you like buffet breakfast. Friendly staff always willing to help although communication difficult. We have little German and they struggle with English. Hotel has pool and sauna free to use. Our room was large and very quiet, overlooking their extensive gardens. Tried their restaurant on night of arrival. Not impressed. Food below average, room hot and stuffy, no air con. Charges for car park excessive.

Stephen L on TripAdvisor, 04.06.2017
separator

An enjoyable stay, we would like to come back!

Another couple who stayed for five nights on a Leons Coach Holiday from the UK. Really enjoyed our time at the Wyndham Grand in Bad Reichenhall. As with previous reviews things are a little dated and our bedroom carpet was worn in places, but my wife loved the spacious room with spotlessly clean facilities. A great breakfast selection, I'm surprised they don't get any walk-ins off the street as room numbers never seemed to be checked? Dinner was variable and plates not always warm, but adequate and filling. No wine/drinks list at dinner, so they missed a trick selling to thirsty English folks! Swimming pool was fine, bathrobes and towels provided.

Everson on TripAdvisor, 01.06.2017
separator

Wonderful hotel badly needed renovation

This hotel has everything to be the 5* de luxe. But... The room (very spacious with a balcony) has the furniture and carpet at least 60 years old. There is only one kind of soup in the bathroom (not good). No conditioner or lotion. The cleaning is so-so, also you have to ask every time for extra towel or fresh gown. They charge 3.5 Euro for .5 liter of plain water. By the way, the tap water is excellent! On my opinion, such a precious property needs a better owner.

Zeituni on TripAdvisor, 30.05.2017
separator

Wonderful starting point

Breakfast was excellent, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the pool was great and the location was perfect. Bad: It was hot on the first day and second night. There wasn't a fan or air conditioning, so it was a bit uncomfortable. Had trouble finding the hotel using the address on the website. Navigation wanted us to drive on a pedestrian street, but the hotel staff gave us a better street and directions to get to the hotel.

Emily on Booking.com, 29.05.2017
separator

Coach holiday

Stayed as part of a coach holiday of 27 people. Excellent hotel, very grand with comfortable rooms and accommodation. Beds very comfortable and daily maid service was excellent . Clean but dated rooms and bathrooms . Pool towels and dressing robes provided . Good indoor pool, sauna and leisure facilities . Breakfast plentiful with the usual cereals, fruit, breads, pastures and hot selection . The same offered daily but a good selection. Evening meal could have been better selection and warmer but quite sufficient. There seemed to be a lack of staff in the dining room in the evening compared to breakfast , and the bar man seemed to work in the dining room as well ! Overall a good stay and I would not hesitate to come back and would recommend it . We stayed on the first floor overlooking the front of the hotel - grounds to the rear were lovely

1490westie on TripAdvisor, 25.05.2017
separator

Superb location, a little bit dated hotel.

Superb location. If you can, book a park view room and prepare for a wonderful experience. Bad: The hotel it's showing its age. Don't expect state of the art tech.

andreisavu on Booking.com, 18.05.2017
separator

Ideal location

My husband and I recently stayed for four night on a half board arrangement. The hotel and its grounds were very attractively appointed. Our room was comfortable; the balcony faced out over the pretty gardens. Unfortunately we also had the roof of the dining hall as part of our view. Not very pleasant at all! Staff were all very pleasant and extremely helpful. The buffet breakfasts were very good. Evening meals could have been better: self-service courses with lots of repetition, some of which were invariably only lukewarm.

_christinemaclean on TripAdvisor, 17.05.2017
separator

Very grand hotel.

Very pleasant staff and outstanding location. Breakfast buffet excellent and dining room staff absolutely first class. Hotel located in a central location and well appointed with beautiful gardens. Bad: Evening buffet tended to be very repetitive and food often only lukewarm.

Colin on Booking.com, 16.05.2017
separator

Perfect location

Good location, lovely breakfast Bad: Breakfast was lovely, but the same choices every day

Celia on Booking.com, 05.05.2017
separator

Nice hotel in a great location

Nice hotel that is definitely fading and in need of a refurb. However very clean and rooms were of an excellent size. Breakfast was great - especially as it was open till 11am. Only complaint was that the room was not serviced on one morning. Housekeeping knocked at 8am and we asked them to come back. Despite leaving the room at 9.30am no one did come back!

Rachel on Hotels.com, 19.04.2017
separator

Wonderful

It the third time at this hotel and for us is one of the best. The rooms are very nice the stuff is very good , it has a beautiful park and a nice pool with sauna. Every thing it look like an castle and the breakfast is perfect for all the tastes.

Radu T on TripAdvisor, 11.04.2017
separator

Бад-Райхенхаль отель Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein

Отличный завтрак, правда без красной рыбы которой славится эта земля, термы в 30 мин ходьбы, много кафе и ресторанов, пешеходная улица рядом,возможен шопинг, рядом концерный зал с отличными ежедневными концертами за 4 евро, остановка наземного транспорта в 15 мин ходьбы

Elena on Booking.com, 05.04.2017
separator

Excellent

Most of the staff were friendly and spoke English. The breakfast food was really good. Bad: The hotel´s decor is a bit dated.

AneFT on Booking.com, 28.03.2017
separator

Good

Nice staff Bad: Property is dated

Sebastiaan on Booking.com, 27.03.2017
separator

Great place to stay

It's very nice place with good service and at the center. Good hotel for travel to Salzburg and kongisee we got very good service at the restaurant from Daniala she is so kindly special thanks for her

Ayontova on TripAdvisor, 14.03.2017
separator

Great wellness getaway.

Very "grand" with the elegance of past times. Very friendly. Although we were traveling with a baby and a dog, we were made to feel totally welcome. The pool, and the garden were both a dream. Loved having a nice bathtub in the bathroom. Bad: The carpet in our room was very old and worn out, and in need of being replaced, but everything else in the room was fine.

Joan on Booking.com, 22.02.2017
separator

Short stay

Room was warm and comfortable. This is our fifth stay and the rooms are beginning to require some maintenance and refurbishment. Staff were friendly and welcoming. However, I was disappointed that I found the bedding was all feather/down. I had informed the hotel in advance that I needed hypoallergenic bedding as feathers/down cause asthma and hayfever. When I stay with other hotel chains I usually find (such as Victors) that they have hypoallergenic rooms available.

J7423CTjohnk on TripAdvisor, 04.02.2017
separator

Good

Spacious and stylish. Breakfast overlooking the park. Sense of grandeur and position in town Bad: Provided with feather bedding despite requesting hypoallergenic bedding on booking form (feathers exacerbate asthma). Had to ask on arrival for bedding to be changed. Restaurant closed for six weeks

John on Booking.com, 02.02.2017
separator

Surprising Place

Was in this fantastic hotel for just a weekend. Bad Reichenall is a very beautiful place to visit. I spent my weekend in nature with Quad and adventure trekking in the fantastic snow. Hotel is very comfortable and perhaps even too big depending on room number..Clean & elegant but bathroom should be renewed. The only negative aspect is the parking..

Il P on TripAdvisor, 01.02.2017
separator

Wind'em Wyndham

Nice location in one of the most beautiful corners of Europe. Polite and professional staff. Friendly environment. I would definitely consider revisiting.

Irakli T on TripAdvisor, 24.01.2017
separator

Good place to stay in Bad Reichenhall

Very good located hotel, we stayed 6 nights and visited places in surround, we've got a good very big and convinient room. Breakfast is great too.

Alexander657 on TripAdvisor, 13.01.2017
separator

Happy to be back!

This elegant dame of a hotel did not disappoint, lovely to be back. We really enjoyed our two adjacent rooms with a view of the pedestrian street and the mountains on the 2nd floor. It was especially lovely when it started to snow on our arrival evening with many snow flurries during the gardens into a winter wonderland. The rooms were spacious and well appointed, the only draw back in winter is that the radiators make the air very dry. We had difficulty sleeping most nights (even with super comfy beds) and found that a damp towel on the radiators helped (which we turned down low overnight). Thank you to the reception team with the help when I needed a doctor and when our bill needed reviewing. The housekeeping team was also tops and nothing was too much to ask, they worked around us. We will definitely be back.

lila810 on TripAdvisor, 10.01.2017
separator

Good

unnecessary difficulties with WiFi connection

Anonymous on Booking.com, 07.01.2017
separator

Contact

Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall
Axelmannstein Hotel
Salzburger Straße 6
83435 Bad Reichenhall