Hotel reviews

Here you can find some ratings from guests to our hotel in Bad Reichenhall.

Great surroundings, nice establishment, nice swimming pool, silly Internet

Breakfast was fine, kind of stereotype though. Location is spectacular, to be able to live and breathe by those mountains, I guess I could have discarded the private bathroom. Nice personnel, eager to help. Nice swimming pool too, 15 m long, you can really swim, not just take a feet bath. The local Philharmonic (very good !) is just across the street, with great performances almost every day, at incredible low prices. The park nearby and the one around the hotel are absolutely splendid, especially now. Bad: Wi-fi is terrible ! You need a separate password for each device (laptop and cellphone for instance) and in my case the one for the cell didn't work even after changing it. Even with the one that works, the system is totally senile and you have to reconnect 5 times / day. They must have an idiotic provider with cold-war-espionage nostalgia. You step outside and you have the area VLAN valid for 10 acres at least, for any device. Still it's not a solution when it rains. My bathroom didn't have a ventilator and the sliding door was not hermetic, so unpleasant smells took time to fade away. Time and opening the French window, which chilled the room.

Mihai on Booking.com, 08.05.2019
separator

Exceptional

Wie immer

Dietrich on Booking.com, 05.05.2019
separator

overall had a great time. The noisy neighbors didnt stay long

Breakfast was very good. Really liked the swimming pool and the garden. Towards the end of our stay the pool was getting colder every day. Bad: Noisy neighbors. pool getting colder

James on Booking.com, 19.04.2019
separator

Old-fashioned hotel in great location

If you like historic buildings and a wide range of amenities, this is your place. Located in the centre of Bad Reichenhall, this large old building welcomes you with old-world charm. Staff is very friendly. The rooms are renovated but some could do with another make-over. Breakfast is plenty and of very good quality.

andijah on TripAdvisor, 15.04.2019
separator

I strongly recommend this hotel. Very clean and sweet breakfast.

Awesome location. Smiling staff. Clean rooms and nice historical building. The breakfast was so good. The view was amazing. Bad: Google Maps or Apple Maps could not find the main entrance of the hotel. It was not marked properly. Parking lot was in awkward location and I had to walk a while with my luggage to find the hotel entrance.

Baris on Booking.com, 09.04.2019
separator

Awesome

Very friendly staff, great breakfast, good location, large rooms, well equiped bathroom Bad: As all old Grand Hotels some worn out edges that would need renovation, e.g. balconies, parking area

Thiemo on Booking.com, 06.04.2019
separator

A charming hotel in a relaxing place

Awesome surroundings Large room, comfortable, cozy and with excellent views (breathtaking view of the full moon over the mountains). The hotel is already years old but that gives it that special charm within the environment in which it is integrated. Correct service and very friendly both at reception and in catering (very pleasant breakfast time). Environment in general quiet and silent. (Particularly, it was very special to be able to hear the birds singing from the early hours of the morning).

depontevedra on TripAdvisor, 26.03.2019
separator

Stylish and comfortable

Being old and tradional, gives a special feeling. It is well maintained and refurbishing rooms, nice and roomy. Accepional view over the mountains and a nice garden. Breakfast is super with many choices. The wide windows looking at the garden, is a bonus. Spa area with really heated pool is a fantastic place to relax. Love it.

nitzan on TripAdvisor, 19.03.2019
separator

Very enjoyable overnight stop. A favourite stopover

Good breakfast in lovely dining room. Pleasant, helpful staff. Had half board. Waiter very helpful source g gluten free options. Bad: Requested hypoallergenic bedding because of asthma. Feather bedding supplied and it took quite of attempts to get the bedding changed.

John on Booking.com, 15.02.2019
separator

Very nice and clean location, located in a picturesque area with lots of vegetation.

Splendid location. The construction itself preserves something reminiscent of the old hotels from the last century. Too bad the hotel doesn't have its own parking place, for the tourists coming with their own cars. It would be necessary. I had to left my car in the parking lots on the nearby streets. But the services, the good, friendly staff, the quiet atmosphere, in fact the location it self, is very pleasant, recommended especialy for families, romantic pairs and sure, for elderly people.. Once you were here, you will surely return with great pleasure. I will come back!

Tavi T on TripAdvisor, 13.02.2019
separator

Very comforyable and nice place

Perfect location. Very good pool and sauna. Bad: Every morning cca at 9.00 cleaning team is knocking at the door disturbing you.

Alexej on Booking.com, 10.02.2019
separator

Excellent

The sauna and the pool was fantastic. The room was nice and clean, and comfortable size. The restaurant next to the lobby had nice meal for reasonable price. The athosmphere of the lobby, staircase and breakfast area ia quite amazing, you can feel art nouvo style there.

Ildikó on Booking.com, 16.01.2019
separator

Wyndham Bad Reichenal

Good size rooms. Very good breakfast. Friendly staff. Bad: In parts needed some decorating to bring it up to a good standard expected from a 4 star. I'm being critical as is a very nice Hotel.

Gfsteven on Booking.com, 09.01.2019
separator

Excellent

Location and rich breakfast. Chef of Axel Stuberl Restaurant

Valerii on Booking.com, 23.12.2018
separator

An old grand hotel with a lot of charm. Very friendly staff.

The hotel has very old traditions.Big room with extra walk-in wardrobe was excellent. There is a very nice hall for breakfast with windows to the floor and a beautiful view to the garden. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was in a convenient and pleasant location. Only steps from the local shops and situated on a beautiful park with views of the mountains. It had beautiful antique furniture a quaint and cosy bar.

szlghq on TripAdvisor, 05.12.2018
separator

Fantastic stay in a great location

We stayed at this property as part of a european road trip, we were very impressed with the cleanliness of the entire hotel, the staff were very helpful & took care of our every need, just a couple of things it wasn't very clear as to where the hotels parking was, we also weren't told about the complimentary wifi offered at check in, we found later on in our stay. Also if using a sat nav the address for the hotel shows as the street behind where the hotel actually is. These were only minor issues & would certainly not stop me from staying there again.

Joeikin on TripAdvisor, 05.11.2018
separator

Good

Breakfast is delicious. The room where you have breakfast is great,very different from the rest of the hotel. We had half board and it was worthwhile. Staff are helpful, car park is close and easy to reach. In spite of the general appearance we would go back. Bad: Rooms are clean but run down. The whole hotel is run down but clean.

Cristina on Booking.com, 02.11.2018
separator

Enjoyable, clean and lovely view

Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein Hotel is a traditional hotel in Bad Reichenhall. This hotel in Bavaria is peacefully located in pedestrian area. Most of the rooms with balcong or view of the beautiful Alps mountains. Enjoy relaxation surrounding hotel lawn area including its own lake, the elegant park restaurant, swimming pool and sauna. Since Bad Reichenhall is a salt producer, you might as well try a relaxation in the new salarium of the hotel that created as oasis of salt for you. The hotel staff will give you a less smile & services. The room is clean, decent size with a georgeous view. The breakfast is served with varieties german and international food with the large windows looking out on to gardens, lovely! This is an old hotel, good interior design, the suite is designed like a palace, and it must be needed for attention on the buildings and do better on services & greetings. Over all, it is a good stay with magnificent Alps mountain view!

Ivans K on TripAdvisor, 31.10.2018
separator

A relaxing stay

We love Bad Reichenhall and the hotel only added to let us have a wonderful stay. Next time we will consider the hotel again.

Tamar on Hotels.com, 22.10.2018
separator

Well treated in an elegant old hotel.

Hotel staff was wonderful. Very accommodating to our needs and was kind enough to upgrade our room for our special occasion. The hotel is a bit outdated inside but well maintained and good amenities. Breakfast was decent, above average. The location is fantastic.

Kevin on Hotels.com, 15.10.2018
separator

Old world charm, rambling and quite beautiful

This hotel is big and old and rambling and... did I say big? There are so many rooms and corridors and facilities that the hotel itself is a destination for exploration. The rooms are a decent size, and the grounds are beautifully presented. The location is ideal for Salzburg, Konigsee and even destinations further afield in the south-east Bavarian area. I really enjoyed my stay here with the tapestried walls and the wonderful breakfast buffet with the large windows looking out onto the gardens. Also in the hotel is a wonderful traditional german restaurant. I had Schnitzel and Bavarian beer here and loved it. There's also a heated pool and spa. The problem I had was the parking. There's no parking really nearby and though the do have a carpark, they told me it was free for guests and then charged me almost 70Euros when I exited. That is terrible. The frenchman working at the concierge is a happy, friendly chap.

Rusty v on TripAdvisor, 15.10.2018
separator

Nice property

Hotel has tons of character, great area. Wished we could've stayed here longer.

Edward on Hotels.com, 12.10.2018
separator

Loved fantasising about yesteryear...overall lovely charming hotel.

Breakfast was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was in a convenient and pleasant location. Only steps from the local shops and situated on a beautiful park with views of the mountains. It had beautiful antique furniture a quaint and cosy bar, a fantastic sauna and pool and whispers of former hotel glory days. Overall, it was exceptionally charming and enjoyable. Bad: The hotel is old and we were initially given a very old room that had chipped paint and mould on the walls in the extremely old bathroom. These first rooms were drab and dated. We were given these rooms as they were interconnecting, so to be fair the hotel was trying to accommodate our wishes. However the standard of the rooms was lacking and completely unacceptable at the price. We advised the staff who arranged for us (whole family)to have a room change without issue (but no longer interconnected). The new rooms whilst old (bathrooms were renovated) at least carried the charm that we had hoped and expected to find in such a lovely old (150 years) hotel.

Peter on Booking.com, 04.10.2018
separator

Great design, wonderful staff.

Breakfast is great, staff is very friendly and the hotel’s design is remarkable. Looks like a building that’s seen a lot of history. Mildly run down, but not more than other hotels in Germany. Needs some love and care. We received a room which seemed good at first, but later we saw that it’s pretty damaged (walls). The day later we complained and the front desk offered us a free upgrade to a suite. HUGE suite, marbled bathroom and everything is designed like a palace. Not all is perfect, but considering it’s not the Carlton or the kenpinsky it’s fine. I recommend it very much. It’s right in the heart of the town and you won’t find a better place!

denis4845 on TripAdvisor, 16.09.2018
separator

Great location

Location Historic building Garden Bad: It was run down ... carpet worn , old furniture. Pool windows didn’t open. No pool bar/ service. A tired old hotel.... it needs some love and a lot of updating.

Lynne on Booking.com, 15.09.2018
separator

This hotel remembers better time.

The hotel has very old traditions and located in the center of the city. You can reach to any place for 10-15 mins. Our room has lots space and was very clean. The hotel has a swimming pool and a sauna. There is a very nice hall for breakfast with windows to the floor and a beautiful view to the garden. Breakfast was very good and diverse. You can park your car nearby, from 6pm until 9am it's free. Bad: Our room didn't have an air condition. The hotel needs to be renovated. The spa zone isn't very good organized.

Nataliia on Booking.com, 12.09.2018
separator

Amazing building and area

House keeping is well organised, the breakfast service is also at very good level of quality, speed and clean. Reception staff is very polite and professional. And although the building needs some renovation, it has grand spirit and cozy atmosphere. The garden is real gem and very well maintained.

kaloyanvangelov on TripAdvisor, 10.09.2018
separator

A good place to stay

This is a good hotel and with pleasure I will return there again. Bad: Compared to Booking.com I found a significantly cheaper (~1/3) offer from another online company, for staying at Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein.

Razmik on Booking.com, 07.09.2018
separator

Awesome

Excellent selection of food. Bad: Noise from restaurant below.

Katrin on Booking.com, 06.09.2018
separator

Relaxing stay

Hotel is old but you get the grand feel. Stay were great and accommodating. Lovely bar to end your day. Only complaints are you had to sign in to the wifi all the time and water from tap was discoloured so hotel should provide compliantly drinking water. Rooms do need some updating but very clean. Perfect location.

caper36 on TripAdvisor, 20.08.2018
separator
Contact

Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall
Axelmannstein Hotel
Salzburger Straße 6
83435 Bad Reichenhall