Hotel reviews

Here you can find some ratings from guests to our hotel in Bad Reichenhall.

VERY DIFFICULT TO FIND IF ARRIVING BY CAR

Beauty Salon staff were fabulous, helpful and delightful. Breakfast was disappointing. My room was comfortable and porter helpful . Bad: Virtually impossible to find the hotel by car. Even with sat nav it took me 30 mins to find it. Bad signage - does not have Wyndham sign . If I hadn’t already paid I would have gone elsewhere, they need to address the signage and directions. . Had to walk from their car park.

Rosemary on Booking.com, 02.11.2017
separator

SO DIFFICULT TO FIND

I drove with sat nav and I couldn’t see a sign for this hotel. I went around for 20 mins trying to find this hotel. It is not signposted as The Wyndham but as Axelmannstein. You drive into a rather tatty looking area through a barrier to find the car park and then either have to drive through second barrier to reach hotel to unload or carry your bags. All in all rather stressful because of none or very poor signage. The staff in the hotel were great, as with all German hotels spotlessly clean. The ladies in the beauty spa were fantastic. I ate in the small bar/ restaurant in the evening and that serves good local food. Breakfast was rather disappointing for me due to lack of fruit but it was an ok buffet. The location is in the centre of pedestrian zone right in town. WiFi was very slow in my room. I couldn’t find even one English speaking channel on TV which was frustrating for me.

roseaE9149XK on TripAdvisor, 15.10.2017
separator

Fantastic Hotel!It seems to live in another time, all...

Fantastic Hotel! It seems to live in another time, all staff is well prepared and efficient. Superior rooms are very beautiful and sauna and swimming pool are fantastic!

bdigna_134120 on TripAdvisor, 12.10.2017
separator

Good

Location and price Bad: Hotel needs upgrading. Buffet dinner could be tastier

Dragan on Booking.com, 09.10.2017
separator

Great location, elegant historic hotel

Update showers. The paint on our shower wall was chipping quite a bit. Location Tip: Restaurants, church, park, casino, and lots of shopping. There are two Chocolate shops close by that are must sees! The location of this hotel is wonderful - right on the end of the Pedestrian walk with the many shops and restaurants and close to the massive park and classy casino. The staff were wonderful, professional and accommodating to our group of 20 guests. Note: Since this hotel is on pedestrian only walkway, if you bring a bus, the bus has to drive on this walkway to let passengers off and on. This seems to be acceptable and expected in the town. The hotel is very elegant. As with other reviews, there are some areas that could use updating, but it was still a very comfortable stay. The rooms with balconies have a large balcony with beautiful views. We would definitely stay here again.

Rosanna on Expedia, 25.09.2017
separator

Exceptional

i shall be there again

זאב on Booking.com, 20.09.2017
separator

Old style elegance in delightful place

Grand old hotel with style and up-to-date, quiet for sleeping although on main pedestrian street - perfect location. Wonderful grounds which lovely to stroll in or sit in the sun. Staff helpful and friendly. Dining room coped well with large numbers for breakfast. Strongly recommend. Bad: Quite difficult to find by car, not helped by booking.com directions !

Anonymous on Booking.com, 18.09.2017
separator

Upgrade

We payed extra for an upgrade. Had a surprise to see a badroom with mould and paint peeling off the wall. Was not worth the extra money. The balcony overlooking the garden was nice and the breakfast was good.

chnobli on TripAdvisor, 17.09.2017
separator

Perfect again

The atention, the service, breakfast Bad: WiFi

Fernando on Booking.com, 16.09.2017
separator

Absolutely worth visiting

Absolutely splendid hotel, it was like going back in time to the 1920-s, a high society patina from that time with clean and modern facilities, great swimming pool, specious rooms and bathrooms. Attentive staff, fabulous park, numerous halls and restaurants zones. Axel Stuberl good quality traditional food and amazing Dark Bock beer.

Alexander on Booking.com, 11.09.2017
separator

Grand Budapest Hotel in real life :)

The breakfast and lunch was excellent. The staff is very polite. The hotel is a bit old fashioned, if you liked the grand budapest hotel movie you will love this hotel. The park is very pretty, there is a small lake in it with fishes. You can even touch them. Bad: The bathroom required a bit renovation. I could close the warm water.

Lajos on Booking.com, 04.09.2017
separator

Best in town

Respectful elegant big hotel in Bad Reichenhail - old school place with tapestries, paintings , marble and chandeliers . Our room was extremely big , tv , minibar , huge terrace with chairs and table , big bathroom with bath tub. The condition of the hotel could be much better , some renovation would really help.

Danny S on TripAdvisor, 01.09.2017
separator

Lovely find

This hotel has just the right feel for Bad Reichenhall. A gracious old building, sitting in its own gardens, next to a larger park. It is beautifully located in a pedestrian area with easily accessible coffee/ dining spots. It is somewhat older , so expect a slightly worn feel. We had lovely rooms (they were superior rooms) with their own balconies, overlooking the gardens. Breakfast is elaborate and served in a restaurant overlooking the gardens. Spa level is a bit of a warren of rooms but overall, very pleasant experience.

37Frequenttraveler on TripAdvisor, 21.08.2017
separator

Will be back

Best breakfast buffet I have had at any European hotel I have stayed at

Charles on Booking.com, 18.08.2017
separator

Very Good

Very good location, a little bit away from the rest of social life but since the town is not big, it is not an issue. Just 5 min walk from all the shops and restaurants. Very friendly and helpful staff, nice swimming-pool and sauna, beautiful park. Standard room is hardly for double occupancy but OK for a single use. Good breakfast. Bad: Nothing worth mentioning.

Svetlana on Booking.com, 17.08.2017
separator

Internet log-in very slow and complicated ..the overall...

Internet log-in very slow and complicated ..the overall impression of Hotel was fine but some small details of lack of paint or worn carpet in room ,torn tissue on bed etc. pity

106elsev on TripAdvisor, 17.08.2017
separator

Excellent

Great selection for breakfast Bad: You have to drive into the pedestrian area to park.

Anonymous on Booking.com, 16.08.2017
separator

However we enjoyed our stay

Very comfortable beds nice breakfast buffet and also the AxelStübli had nice food Bad: Window in dining room needed paint and/or change..carpet in bedroom very worn and tissue on the bed was torn,you feel it's a grand Hotel but lacks ' doing up ' money question ?

Else on Booking.com, 16.08.2017
separator

A travel in time

Perfect if you are looking for a travel in the past. It's a bit the palace of the sleeping beauty, before she awakes.

Thibaut on Agoda, 06.08.2017
separator

It's Good in Bad Reichenhall!

Breakfasts and Bar Staff Bad: No tea making facilities in room

Graham on Booking.com, 01.08.2017
separator

Good

Nice location.

Charlie on Booking.com, 27.07.2017
separator

Very nice stay in beautifu Bad Reichenhall

Location, room, food was great. The hotel itself was a bit "worn" and the impression was that there were to few staff around a fully booked restaurant (at breakfast).

lasseo684 on TripAdvisor, 27.07.2017
separator

Perfect location

This hotel not only has one of the best position in town but also it is the perfect place to relax. The personell is nice and always helpful

S3140WPalessandrab on TripAdvisor, 17.07.2017
separator

Too busy to enjoy all the facilities!

We spent 6 nights at the hotel and had a "full on" time sight-seeing etc that we did not have time to enjoy all the facilities available at this very well appointed hotel, we used the pool once, did not use the sauna. I booked a room with a balcony but I think we sat on it for about 45 minutes throughout our stay. The hotel is very close to the railway station, about a 7/8 minute walk away. The railway is on a branch line from Freilassing to Berchtesgarden. From Freilassing you can catch a train to Salzburg, what a wonderful city. The hotel is right on the edge of the main shopping area and the town centre, but its very quiet no noise at night. We only had breakfast in the hotel and that was really good, choice of everything. We used the bar for evening drinks and as it was so warm we sat on the patio, very pleasant. The room was spacious and we had a bath with shower. The shower was bit of a let down, as the shower head did not distribute the water very well, but don't let that put you off. The bed was very big with separate duvets and very comfortable.

TheAdmiralLondon on TripAdvisor, 09.07.2017
separator

Grand old hotel in need of love and attention

Grand old property with a once lovely garden which is now uncared for. Finances have dried up! Staff were mostly helpful, breakfast was plentiful and guest rooms and bathrooms were large. Bed was surprisingly comfortable. Indoor pool was popular. House taxi charges fixed price of €30 to Salzburg airport. This place could be amazing. There was reasonable English spoken at reception. Once a grand spa hotel, it is now utilized by many bus groups. Bad: As a four star property there were no basic amenities such as shampoo, conditioner, lotions etc. in the bathroom. There were no porters. Carpets and decor were very dated and in definite need of replacement. Extensive gardens including a small lake were in definite need of care. Lawns needed mowing and heldges needed grooming. Apparently there are no funds for this. The Sunday afternoon reception person was in dire need of some training in customer service and smiling. Internet was initially difficult to establish.

DeltaBega on Booking.com, 22.06.2017
separator

Lovely older hotel

We loved the location and the staff was outstanding. Hot and cold spigot was temperamental. The place was a little worn. The grounds were fantastic. The breakfast was stellar. We would definitely stay here again.

TXMountain on TripAdvisor, 21.06.2017
separator

Slightly frayed around edges but nevertheless very good

A grand old dame type hotel. Seen better days perhaps but elegant nevertheless and surprisingly good. It has a number of real positives including:- 1. Comfortable bed 2. Great breakfast buffet 3. Breakfast served till 11am on weekends 4. Good pool area 5. Lovely garden 6. Some rooms at back have lovely balconies and stunning views 7. Friendly staff 8. Fairly Central location 9. Spotlessly clean 10. Good shower pressure 11. Excellent value for money A few negatives 1. No air conditioning 2. Whilst centrally located it is at the very opposite end of the shopping area to the main square and more historic and prettiest part of town 3. No concierge or bell boy service Overall it is good and you will have a comfortable stay. It is not really a four star and I suspect only gets that rating because of the pool. The relatively low staff numbers relative to rooms and the fact that it needs some upkeep and maintenance in places would put it more in the three star category However I enjoyed my stay and would stay again. Tip- ask or make sure you book a garden room with a balcony. The balconies are large. You can sit outside and soak in the stunning views.

bambergfan on TripAdvisor, 19.06.2017
separator

Pleasant stay.

Good breakfast, helpful front desk staff, nice historic hotel, conveniently located in the pedestrian zone. The indoor swimming pool was very pleasant. Bad: We had a corner room, so we had enough ventilation. Our companions had one window, and it was uncomfortable. Some of the furniture was scratched up.The shower dripped.

Expat on Booking.com, 17.06.2017
separator

A weekend in Bad Reichenhall

Big room with extra walk-in wardrobe was excellent. Lovely breakfast and very friendly staff. Bad: Hotel would soon need a little updating.

Co-traveler on Booking.com, 16.06.2017
separator

Wonderful

Very nice "classical" Grand Hotel-atmosphere. Beautiful house and location, breakfast room luxurious and with a breath-taking view of the park. The swimming pool is not deep enough. Bad: The pool are would benefit from an upgrade of facilities

Anonymous on Booking.com, 12.06.2017
separator

Contact

Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall
Axelmannstein Hotel
Salzburger Straße 6
83435 Bad Reichenhall